VCU Staff Achievements

2017 Hurty Award Winners

Each year the Indiana Department of Environmental Management has presented the John N. Hurty Service Award to individuals having 25 years or more of service with one or more Indiana public water utilities. These awards are presented each year at the Indiana Section AWWA fall district meetings. On September 15, 2017, Valparaiso City Utilities had four employees recognized for achieving this milestone.

Mark Geskey - 25 years of service, ​Lori Schroeder - 40 years of service,
Susan Gustafson - 35 years of service, ​Jack Falatic - 30 years of service ​

​At 25 years of service, these qualifying individuals receive a John N. Hurty Service Award certificate signed by the Governor of Indiana and the commissioner of the Department of Environmental Management. They also receive a lapel pin for each 5-year anniversary of service.  Congratulations to each of them for a job well done!