VCU Board of Directors

The Valparaiso City Utilities Board will be meeting in an Executive Session on Tuesday, October 10, 2023, beginning at 4:30 p.m. regarding IC 5-14-1.5-6.1(b) 2B Initiation of litigation or litigation that is either pending or has been threatened specifically in writing.

Utilities Board Meetings are currently open to the public.  VCU will continue to follow Governor Holcomb's Executive Order 20-02 (as amended) and Indiana Code § 5-14-1.5-3.5 as it relates to virtual meetings.  
The Valparaiso City Utilities Board of Directors is comprised of a panel of five Valparaiso residents appointed by the Mayor to serve four-year terms of office.  Each term runs from July 1st through June 30th.  This board is responsible to oversee operations, policy, and finances for the Water, Wastewater, and Stormwater Divisions.

Meetings are held: 

  • 5:00 P.M. CST
  • Second and Fourth Tuesdays of Each Month
  • Valparaiso City Utilities, 205 Billings Street, Valparaiso, IN 46383

The Board is governed by the Open Door Policy as adopted by the State of Indiana, requiring board business be conducted in public and required to adhere to the City of Valparaiso Ethics Ordinance No. 37-2005.  

Current Board Members:  

  • John S. Walsh, President
  • Kari Bennett, Vice-President
  • Rod Gayda, Secretary
  • Mike Sur, Treasurer
  • Jeff Lamb, Assistant Secretary
  • Mike Langer, Board Attorney   

Water Utility Board & Staff (1936)
 "Utility Board and Employees - 1936"